mercoledì 2 maggio 2012

Andreas Scholl - O Solitude

17 tracks - MP3 192 Kbps - RAR 106Mb
The greatest countertenor of today, Andreas Scholl returns to the Decca label with a recording of vocal jewels by the great baroque composer, Henry Purcell. This is Andreas Scholl's first ever recording of the music of Purcell and his uniquely beautiful voice is perfectly suited to the English composer's plangent melodies. The album includes pieces written for the stage, the church and the private chamber, some of which Andreas Scholl has sung in recital for many years, and some he sings for the first time.Andreas Scholl's longstanding collaborators, ‘Accademia Bizantina’ bring out the Italian influence in Purcell's instrumental writing, and contribute orchestral items to the programme. 'O Solitude' is Andreas Scholl's first Decca album since the chart-topping ‘Handel: Arias For Senesino' in 2006.The album includes the well known lament 'When I Am Laid In Earth' - recently voted the UK's No.1 favourite aria in a BBC Radio 3 poll - written for the character of Dido in Purcell's opera, Dido and Aeneas. Andreas Scholl is joined for two duets by French countertenor Christophe Dumaux.


1. If Music Be The Food Of Love
2. Come Ye Sons Of Art - Sound The Trumpet
3. Come, Ye Sons Of Art, Away (1694)
Ode For The Birthday Of Queen Mary II
Strike The Viol, Touch The Lute
4. Chacony, Z628
5. King Arthur, Or The British Worthy (1691) / Act 5 - Fairest Isle
6. King Arthur, Or The British Worthy (1691) / Act 3 - What Power Art Thou?
7. Chacony In G Minor Z730
8. The Fairy Queen / Act 2 - One Charming Night
9. Pausanius, The Betrayer Of His Country. (1695), Z585 - Sweeter Than Roses
10. Dido And Aeneas / Act 3 - When I Am Laid In Earth - Dido's Lament
11. The Gordian Knot Untied - Music For The Gordian Knot Unty'd
12. Ode For St Cecilia's Day, ''Welcome To All The Pleasures'', Z339 - Here The Deities Approve
13. Oedipus - Music For A While, Z583
14. O Dive Custos Auriacae Domus, Z504
15. O Solitude, My Sweetest Choice, Z.406
16. Pavan In G Minor, Z.752
17. An Evening Hymn, Z 193

Andreas Scholl
Accademia Bizantina
dir. Stefano Montanari

0 commenti:

Posta un commento